Be My Guest Ashley London

April 20, 2010 at 11:45 am 5 comments

For the second week in a row my topic of the week will be posted by a guest blogger of my choosing.  This week I chose to post something from fellow class member, Ashley London’s blog.  Ashley is also a student in Barbara Nixon’s Social Media for PR class, and she has done a series of posts filed under the category of “PR Connections” about “The Big Shockers in Advertising”.  I found each of these posts interesting and sometimes hard to swallow.

The following post is directly from Ashley’s blog.  After reading this one, I suggest you go to Ashley’s blog and read the other posts in the series. Enjoy!

The Big Shockers in Advertising: Part #4 by: Ashley London

PETA (People for Ethical Treatment of Animals) is a company that stands for the “rights” of animals around the world. Their main focuses include animals in factory farms, laboratories, in the clothing trade and also in the entertainment industry. Recently the have started a new campaign to push people to become vegetarians.

The name of the campaign is the “Save the Whales” campaign. This campaign has nothing to do with actually saving a whale. The whale in this case is referring to people, more specifically overweight people. Their underlying slogan to the campaign is “Lose the Blubber. Go vegetarian.” There has been a big stir in the media about this campaign, numerous amounts of people are taking this ad to be offensive.

I think that there is a reason for people to cause an uproar about the campaign because it is really a very unethical campaign. The funny thing is the PETA’s name states that they stand for ethics and even though it is for animals, I feel it should be respected for everyone. But aren’t humans animals too in a sense?

When asked about the new campaign and its controversy a spokesperson from the campaign states that they feel that animals don’t understand what is being done to them and they need someone to speak for them while on the other hand humans are able to defend themselves and can understand. They feel that this ad is not to be taking offensively but if it is then people can do something about it. My question for PETA is if you are going to offend humans on earth and then you upset them….who will be with you to save the animals?

You can contact Ashley London at her blog or on Twitter.

Entry filed under: Social Media and PRCA 3030- Section C, Topic of The Week- PRCA 3030. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Podcast for PRCA3030 Groundswell Book Review: Part I

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Hey Kelsey! I think this is a very interesting post. I like how you invite Ashley to do one of your topic of the weeks. I think that helps everyone get introduced to more blogs.
    As for Ashley’s post, I completely agree with her. I am an big animal lover. I have a dog, her name is Izzie, and she is the love of my life. Although I do love animals very much, I feel that PETA have overstepped their boundaries. They are ridiculing humans, which have to be on earth to take care of animals. I feel like their campaign manager should take a step back and rethink their ethics. Good luck with that PETA!
    Happy Blogging Kelsey!

    Reply
  • 2. comments « Jessica's Blog  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    […] hyperlink […]

    Reply
  • 3. ladylondon2455  |  April 21, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Again I want to thank you for making me your guest blog. I encourage people to take a view at PETA website and mission statements. You can also Google shock advertisements and I will guarantee you will see PETA. Some of the things they show are so disturbing that I would not even re-post them.

    Reply
  • […] 10.Be My Guest Ashley London, Kelsey Hendrix […]

    Reply
  • 5. Danielle  |  April 29, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    This advertising campaign is a little offensive, but extremely effective and creative. I don’t think that you have to be offensive to have a good advertising campaign, but I do think that you have to catch people’s attention and this advertisement does that really well. It is a shocking and almost ironic advertisement and almost comical in a vulgar way. If all advertisements were this creative and well thought out people could really get people to buy into any product or idea. I personally thought that this particular ad was funny and it defiantly got me thinking about being a vegetarian. I sure as heck don’t want to be a “whale”. Thanks for reposting this blog post. It was defiantly a good one.
    – Danielle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Follow me on Twitter

PROpenMic

I'm a member of PROpenMic

Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Click here to see my Documents on Scribd

Btn_blue_122x44

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

